Fellowship Luncheon 2018


This is the event that always kicks starts my Christmas off, it’s moment when you walk into the beautiful Dorchester Hotel on Park Lane and see all the stunning decorations. The fellowship for British Hairdressing annual Christmas luncheon and awards is a chance to celebrate the year with your hairdressing friends. It was said that the event is like sharing your Christmas dinner with your best friends. I went along with some of my ghd family, Dafydd Thomas, Amy Sontae, Fiona Lindley and our special guest Emma Bavin from EG recruit and Choose Hair.

A highlight of the hairdressing calendar each year, the Luncheon and Awards serves to pay tribute to those Fellowship members who have gone above and beyond during the last 12 months plus a wonderful dinner and lots and lots of drinks.

This year’s event was hosted by Fellowship Chancellor, President Elect for 2019, Ken Picton. There was a lot of expectation on Ken’s speech as last year added extra vocabulary from ken’s homeland, Wales (all of which I have never had the opportunity to use or ever will). He kept us entertained all day and did not disappoint! Ken was joined on stage by current President, Karine Jackson and Chairman Simon Shaw to present the awards.

We were treated to a gorgeous menu and some lovely wine which Ken said he picked especially for us and it was just luck it was his favourite! The dessert was to die for and finished off a wonderful lunch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


The fellowship also celebrates hairstylists for their work with industry recognised awards along with the sought after F.A.M.E team announcement for 2019. This is a life changing opportunity for any young stylist, it exposes the team to opportunities and stylists that no other brand can do. Past F.A.M.E team members have gone on to be some of the most iconic stylists in the industry. There was a touching memorial from Sacha Mascolo paying tribute to her late father and industry icon Toni Mascolo who sadly passed away.

This year the awards went too….

Fellow with Honours
Jo Martin
Chris Williams
Simon Tuckwell
Peter Belcher
Rick Roberts
Nick Irwin

Fellow with Distinction – Debbie Gee

Salutation Award
Estetica Magazine
Salon NV and Barber NV
Good Salon Guide
The Salon
Salon Business
Concept Hair
Professional Hairdresser
Hairdressers Journal

Roll of Recognition
Stacey Irwin
Rachael Gibson
Alphonso Grose
Mary Banasik

Sassoon Scholarship – Tanahya Nash
Christofer Mann Step Up & Shine Scholarship – Nicola Hamm
Colour Project Achiever of the Year –Natalie Newton
Project X Student of the Year – Marlene Lamont
Individual Salon of the Year – Melissa Timperley
Salon Group of the Year –Medusa
Unsung Hero – Jon Chapman
Charity Award –Marc Antoni salons
Member of the Year –Victor Pajak
Image of the Year –Robert Masciave
Patron’s Award –Angelo Seminara
Lifetime Achievement – Russell Eaton
Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year – Tina Farey

F.A.M.E. Team 2019
Alastair Jubbs, VAE Hair
Ashley Cockrell, Percy & Reed
Lora Griffin, Simon Webster
Tania Faenza, TONI&GUY

A massive congratulations to all the winners and I am looking forward to following the journey of the F.A.M.E team 2019. Congratulations to everyone involved putting on such an amazing event and can’t wait to do it again next year!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: